Job Details

Live in carer for 85 year old Lady in Canary Wharf - London - immediate start : £550 - £600 pw

Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom, GBP 550 - 600 per week Paid Holiday + Pension, Self Employed

Posted: 5 days ago

Description

Live in carer for 85 year old Lady in Canary Wharf - London with immediate Effect 

We require a dedicated and conscientious care assistant to live with my mum and provide care for her. We're seeking a caring and compassionate individual who enjoys interacting with more mature people and assisting them with their daily living activities. Candidates must be warm and friendly, with a strong work ethic, a positive attitude and a genuine passion for providing high quality care and support. The successful candidate will be self-motivated, well-organized and have flexibility and empathy in dealing with an elderly person with mild dementia. The ideal candidate must be physically strong and patient.

Proven experience in working with seniors, in either a paid or voluntary capacity, is essential for this role. 

Although this is a Full Time Role, it is extremely important to understand that the main reason it is Full Time is because we do not want Mum to be alone for more than, maximum, one hour at any time on her own. Apart from regular showering and random personal hygiene, mum needs attention during meal and drug times and encouraging her to stay out of bed, making daily calls to her daughters and weekly calls to her granddaughter.

There is a backup carer who will attend when the Live in carer is out for more than an hour.  

Therefore, the live in carer will have  a lot of free time at home, and, depending on the pattern and number of hours of wanting time away from home, when the Backup carer can attend, also free  time away from the home.

The current carer will be at hand for handover and most other times for any advice/assistance , especially when daughters out of the country.


Responsibilities :

  • Assist  with personal care tasks, such as washing and dressing
  • Ensuring excellent Oral Hygiene (brushing of teeth) three times a day  

  • Perform light housekeeping tasks, such as dusting, vacuuming and changing bed linens 

  • Do the laundry and ironing 

  • Assist in the safe lifting, transferring, repositioning and movement 

  • Accompany to medical appointments (NHS and private facilities), either getting an Ambulance for NHS appointments , taxis or assisting family with taking her to appointments 

  • Observe, monitor and record physical and emotional well-being, and promptly report any changes to family and GP

  • Encourage her not to stay in bed and carry out very light movement and exercises and watch TV

  • Take Fasting Blood Sugar every morning prior to breakfast ,recording for monthly review with Diabetic Nurse and family 

  • Administer drugs ,including Insulin if possible(see below under Diabetes)

  • Liaise with  GP, hospital, specialists (particularly when daughters out of the country) 

  • Take her food Shopping either with Dial-A –Ride (not during pandemic), or Taxi 

  • Take her for walks in front of the building

  • Cook healthy meals  (family will provide detailed guidance if necessary and recipes for favourite meals) 

  • Do Food Shopping 

  • Provide companionship especially during meal times, and, in particular, when daughters and granddaughter out of the country 

  • Comfort her during the night, if she has disturbed sleep (very rare) 

  • Based on Mum’s health, travel to Spain for holiday with family 

  • Keep daughters fully informed of any important changes in health status 

  • Help with communicating with her family (using Facetime/phone) outside the country  

  • Deal with correspondence addressed to her and update daughters

Health issues:

Diabetes (Type2)  and is insulin dependent. It is desirable that the carer administers the Insulin, however, if that is an issue, community nurses can provide this service ,although, it is much more desirable, especially during the pandemic not to have more people enter the flat 

Mild vascular dementia –  brought on due to her Diabetes. She recognizes everyone, and is not at all aggressive. The main symptom of her Dementia is forgetfulness, as well as difficulty with motor neuron (MN) functions ,such as walking, cooking ,  dialing telephone numbers.  She uses a walker to assist with walking and walks very slowly, due to the MN damage. We have a wheelchair, but as we need to encourage her to move, we only use that when we go out for long walks – We do not want it used around the house, as it is essential she moves around as much as possible.

Heart dysfunction – She narrowing of her mitral valve and also has a Pacemaker, but in general, apart from taking medication, there are no specific symptoms   as a result of her heart issues 

Mobility & Balance –she requires full assistance with showering as  she can not stand without help and leaning on to a secure surface and/or person  

Please note that She is able to go to the toilet herself  and eat herself. However, there are times when she does not get to the bathroom quick enough, she will need to be cleaned and given change of underwear/clothing (currently rarely). For this reason , she wears nappy pants at night only.

 

Details of Living arrangements

The Live in carer will have  her own room and her own bathroom in a spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom flat in a secure building with concierge in Canary  Wharf London. The flat overlooks the river with own gardens. High speed internet (fiber) available.  All utility and council tax bills are paid for. 

 

Salary & Time off 

Salary: This will include approximately 2 weeks paid Holiday, and Pension. Weekly Salary: £550 - £600 depending on experience and amount of time when the Backup carer will be needed 

Time off: One day (8 hours) or 2 half days, and up to an addition of 8 hours, if required. This must be agreed in advance with the family, as there will be a backup carer who can attend on a regular basis, depending on how many hours she wants to be out of the house.

 

>>> To apply, please click this text to send your CV <<<

 

 

 

Job Details

LICJ
IMMEDIATE START
Full Time
Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom
Self Employed
GBP 550 - 600 per week, Paid Holiday + Pension