Female live in carer required in Kent

Private Employer

6 days ago

£700 - 800/per week

Job Description

I need a carer for my father, he is 76 and has Parkinson’s disease. He needs help with showering and personal care, with dressing, adding cream to help prevent pressure sores, to walk with him as he uses his 4 wheeled walker & sits down safely; making him a light breakfast and lunch and a cooked dinner and to purée the food with a hand blender after made.

To sit with him when eating and drinking as has dysphagia, to prompt and encourage the use of techniques when needed (I can teach; such as ‘slow down’ tongue around teeth, little breaks to minimise the potential risk of coughing) we have timed alarm tablet box for ease for giving tablets, but tend to give tablets on a spoon with water although can take himself.

To take out for walks; he pushes his wheelchair to keep upright & balance himself and when tires or ‘freezes’ or is unable, will need help to sit back down in the wheelchair and be pushed in the chair rest of the way (he is very light and small & so is chair)

To help him if he needs a bowel movement, walk with him to the toilet and come back to clean him& add cream.

To assist him with speech therapy practice for 20 minutes five days a week, he reads out phrases or repeats what you say from a book or song words, (to strengthen voice& swallow) and to do a crossword twice a week with him.

we need someone who is happy to cook dinners, can even make enough for a couple of days so no need to cook every day if its a meal cooked from scratch& takes longer, for example, a vegetable stew, vegetable curry and to wash up and do general light housework.

My father is a lovely, gentle& quiet man, he has a very soft voice and can be hard to hear and communicate with sometimes, and uses a speech card, due to Parkinson’s,

He enjoys listening to & watching DVDs of music- Irish, country, the 50s to 70s, singing, watching sports, football, Olympics etc, films, travel programmes, documentaries, playing games.

I’m looking for a kind, patient, empathetic, caring person who is a good all-rounder and happy to help and assist my father to make sure he is safe due to mobility issues and Parkinson’s.

Many thanks, any questions please ask and we look forward to hearing from you.

Job Details

Job Ref:

Femalelivein

Location:

Ashford, Kent, UK

Salary:

£700 - 800/per week Negotiable salary

Employment type:

Full Time

Working Term:

Self Employed