Profile - 36229

< Back to profiles

I was caring for a man who needed 24-hour care. Key responsibilities included hoisting in and out of bed, oral care, feeding, medication, toilet care, showering, dressing, and putting in a wheelchair.

I also accompanied the client to and from the day centre from Monday to Friday.

In addition to preparing food and feeding the client, I also did peg feeding when the dietary requirements of the client changed.

The client was an epileptic patient and had different types of seizures on a regular basis.

I was also responsible for taking control of the situation when the client had seizures, knowing when to calm him down, or at what point to administer medication to control the situation. I am also competent in the use of a suction machine.
My preferred employment types are live-in care or caring for people in their own homes.
I recently cared for an 85 year old man who was terminally ill. He was expected to live for 2 months but I ended up living with him for 6 months. He passed off peacefully holding my hand. I became his companion and visited places he had not been for years. At home, I was responsible for his personal care, cleaning the house, laundry and ironing, cooking, shopping and administration of medicine.
In addition to the care experience, I was a secondary school Agricultural science and maths teacher in Ghana for five years. I also joined the British Army as a mechanical engineer for 7 years.
I recently became a qualified secondary school maths teacher did teach from 2018 to 2020.
My passion includes farming and helping people.
I love sports and enjoy watching football in my spare time.

Live In Care Experience: 4-6 Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work, Home Care, Care for close relative or loved one

Gender: Male

Looking for work in the following Locations:
South East, Hampshire, Southampton, Wiltshire

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I have my own car

Care Qualifications:

Care Skills: Brain Injury, Cancer, Catheter Care, Complex Care, COSHH Training, Dementia, End of life / Palliative Care, Epilepsy / Buccal midazolam, Incontinence, Learning Disability, Manual Handling, Medication Training, Peg Feeding, Personal Care, Spinal Injury, Stroke

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: