Profile - 20158

< Back to profiles

My name is Adam Conway Cowdrill. I am a 28 year old single male living in the greater London area willing to travel nationwide for care work. I was born and spent the first 19 years of my life in Milton Keynes where my home remains today. After completing my high-school education I went to Sheffield University and in 2010 graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Politics (2:1). Since then I have been working and travelling quite consistently. The focus of my energies during this time have been devoted towards Vipassana meditation. I have been volunteering at Vipassana meditation centres around the world in countries including: The UK, New Zealand, Australia, Indonesia, India and Nepal performing numerous roles as a Kitchen Manager, Course manager and doing maintenance and household work. A common thread of quality that has run throughout my life since beginning meditation in 2011 is that of care, kindness and compassion. The goal of meditation itself is to encourage a person to grow in these altruistic qualities and when volunteering my time at a meditation centre - which has been the focus of my life in recent years – I am actively caring for and supporting others every moment. I also feel it worthy of mention that since the 3rd of October 2013 I have lived strictly by five ethical precepts fulfilling the fundamental part of this meditation and lifestyle. In an effort to ensure my life is of benefit to myself and those around me I have adhered scrupulously to the following precepts: To abstain from killing, stealing, lying, indulging in sexual misconduct and the taking of any kind of intoxicants. It is therefore a given that I am person you will find to be completely open, honest and trustworthy.
In February 2013 after spending 5 months at the Vipassana meditation centre in the UK I worked as a live-in carer with spinal-cord injury patients through the agency Active Assistance. I continued doing this work for 4 months from February - July. During this time I stayed with five clients – all young males with high-level spinal-cord injuries. With all of these clients I was the sole live-in carer and so with the training I received from Active Assistance was responsible for the entire daily/weekly routine including moving and handling, bladder and bowel management and all other aspects of live-in care work. I learned a great deal from this time not least that every person has different care needs and preferences and so flexibility and openness are of utmost importance for any care role.
I enjoyed this work immensely and feel very, very strongly that I am a natural carer; having the professional characteristics of reliability, awareness, accountability alongside communicational and organizational skill. I consider my natural personal characteristics to be predominantly flexibility, patience, compassion and a love of harmony. I truly consider myself to be a person that any care-company would treasure as an employee and any client would benefit from being with. This work is an honour and privilege to do.
I arrived back in the UK in October 2016 and have since been reconnecting with family and friends along with participating in a 45-day Vipassana meditation course from November to December. My plans now are to become a live-in carer and return to the work that I found so fulfilling and fruitful. I hope you want to hear more from me.

With well-wishes and sincerity,

Adam Conway Cowdrill

Live In Care Experience: 1-3 Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work

Gender: Male

Looking for work in the following Locations:
Nationwide

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I don't have my own car

Care Qualifications:

Care Skills: Manual Handling, Personal Care, Spinal Injury

Current DBS: No

Leave Comment: