Profile - 19861

< Back to profiles

I am an active, mature English woman with 16 years experience of Live in Care work. I have nursed clients through to end of life in their own homes in long term live in posts. I am a patient, caring and dedicated carer. I find Palliative Care particularly rewarding. I understand the importance of supporting the family as well as the client.

My interests are reading, weaving, films and walking. I enjoy spending time with my grandsons, driving, walking our dogs, exploring new areas. I have travelled and lived in a number of counties during my life. The last 27 years have been in Cornwall where I have for the last 10 years worked locally through word of mouth recommendation. I have recently taken a couple of months off to refresh myself.

I feel everyone has the right to be treated with sensitivity, dignity and respect. In my view looking after others is very much about recognizing each is an individual and responding accordingly, meeting each persons individual needs.

I have gained extensive experience during my time working for an agency initially, as a Health Care Assistant in various wards in The Royal Cornwall Hospital Treliske, Derriford Hospital Plymouth, Torbay and a number of Community Hospitals during my time with Newcross Agency.
I have experience with personal care, first aid, safeguarding, food and hygiene, moving and handling, hoist and stand aids, catheters, Peg Feeding, medication, diabetes, diet and insulin injections, incontinence, challenging behaviour. I have worked with a client for three years who had had a stroke. My experience has included 8 years caring for dementia clients, plus a liver transplant patient/client.
I have had three clients whom I have looked after long term, each of them through to Palliative care/end of life.
I believe in a person's right to be at home for the end of their life if they choose.
I am available for positions in Nationwide. I am happy to work in rural areas.

Live In Care Experience: 6+ Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work, Home Care, Other Care Work, Care for close relative or loved one, Nursing

Gender: Female

Looking for work in the following Locations:
London, South East, Berkshire, Cornwall, East Sussex, Isle of Wight, Oxfordshire, Surrey, West Sussex, Wiltshire, South West, Bath Avon, Bournemouth, Bristol Avon, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Isles of Scilly, North Somerset, Poole, Somerset, South Gloucestershire, Scotland, Aberdeenshire, Angus, Argyll and Bute, Banffshire, Berwickshire, Caithness, Clackmannanshire, Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar, Cromartyshire, Dumfries and Galloway, Dumfriesshire, Dundee City, East Ayrshire, East Dunbartonshire, East Lothian, East Renfrewshire, Edinburgh, Falkirk, Fife, Flintshire, Glasgow City, Highland, Inverclyde, Inverness-shire, Isle Of Arran, Isle Of Benbecula, Isle of Bute, Isle of Colonsay, Isle of Cumbrae, Isle of Gigha, Isle Of Harris, Isle of Islay, Isle of Jura, Isle of Lewis, Isle Of Mull, Isle Of North Uist, Isle Of Scalpay, Isle of Skye, Isle Of South Uist, Isle Of Tiree, Kincardineshire, Kirkcudbrightshire, Midlothian, Moray, Morayshire, North Ayrshire, North Lanarkshire, Orkney, Orkney Islands, Peeblesshire, Perth And Kinross, Perthshire, Renfrewshire, Roxburghshire, Scottish Borders, Selkirkshire, Shetland, Shetland Islands, South Ayrshire, South Lanarkshire, Stirling, Sutherland, West Lothian, Western Isles, Wigtownshire

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I have my own car

Care Qualifications:

Care Skills: Brain Injury, Cancer, Catheter Care, Children / Young People, Complex Care, COSHH Training, Dementia, End of life / Palliative Care, Incontinence, Learning Disability, Manual Handling, Medication Training, Parkinsons, Peg Feeding, Personal Care, Spinal Injury, Stoma, Stroke

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: