Profile - 19453

< Back to profiles

I am a 60 yr old Male and i have just completed 2 yrs as a live-in-carer to a 92 yr old Male client with Dementia. During this time i built up a good rapport with family and friends of client. During my 2 yrs i provided a good quality of care, my duties included Clients general wellbeing, companionship, skin care, showering and bathing, toileting and continence care, denture care, grooming and shaving, dressing, cooking, general house duties, medication compliance, GP, Hospital and Clinic appointments, also looking after pet Cat and Chickens.
Before I worked for The NHS for 20yrs as a Psychiatric Support Nurse. I was eligible for early retirement and decided to take time out and travel.
Whilst I was employed in The NHS I cared for a varying degree of patients with mental health issues. I cared mainly for Adult but also included some care of the elderly. I mainly worked ward based in a hospital setting. During this time I also worked in Day Services providing patient activities and The Crisis Team which provided help and support to patients living in their own home.
On my return from traveling I decided to return to work. I joined a Nurse Agency and worked with mainly elderly clients with Dementia in a Care home setting and I found the role enjoyable and full filling. But I much prefer working with clients on a 1 to1 basis. I firmly believe that clients have a much more improved life living in their own environment and familiar surroundings where friends and family are more reachable.

Live In Care Experience: 1-3 Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work, Home Care, Other Care Work, Nursing

Gender: Male

Looking for work in the following Locations:
South East, Berkshire, Brighton and Hove, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Kent, Middlesex, Oxfordshire, Surrey, West Sussex

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I have my own car

Care Qualifications:

Care Skills: Dementia, Incontinence, Manual Handling, Personal Care

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: