Profile - 18836

< Back to profiles

By profession, I am a secondary school language teacher and I have always loved working with people. During my university years I worked in American summer camps for children and adults with mild to moderate physical and mental disabilities and I had been a teaching assisstant at a special needs school in Kent for a brief period of time too. Apart from working with children, I have found working with the elderly and people with special needs rewarding too and being a carer for the elderly and / or someone with a physical and / or mental challenge amalgamates all the above for me, so it is no surprise that I have been doing this as a job since 2011.

I have worked with elderly ladies, gents and couples for 5 years in the UK as a live-in and live-out domiciliary carer. I have been in touch with people with Parkinsons, vascular and other dementias, motor neuron disease and many more. I am married but we have no children yet. I hold a full UK drivers licence and I go to work by car which is then there to be used to take my client out (appointments, socializing etc.) I live in Folkestone, Kent but I am available for work in the whole South East of England, including London and the home counties. I am self employed, have a current DBS and available for work immediately. I prefer short term assignments from a few days up to 2-3 weeks at a time.

Live In Care Experience: 4-6 Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work, Home Care, Other Care Work, Care for close relative or loved one

Gender: Female

Looking for work in the following Locations:
London, South East, Berkshire, Brighton and Hove, Buckinghamshire, Cornwall, East Sussex, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Middlesex, Milton Keynes, Oxfordshire, Portsmouth, Southampton, Surrey, West Sussex, Wiltshire

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I have my own car

Care Qualifications: NVQ Health and Social Care

Care Skills: Cancer, Catheter Care, Children / Young People, Complex Care, COSHH Training, Dementia, End of life / Palliative Care, Incontinence, Learning Disability, Manual Handling, Medication Training, Parkinsons, Personal Care, Stroke

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: