Profile - 18266

< Back to profiles

Hi
I am a 56 year old South African female looking for full-time, live-in care work. I have a British passport and I hold a valid driver`s license and have a DBS.
Besides having 2 years of nursing experience in Cape Town, I hold a degree in Psychology, which includes Psychopathology (the study of abnormal behavior) and have extensive care work experience. My training is up to date and I have worked in the UK as a carer from 2002 to 2006 and again between 2014 to current (June 2016) during which time I have cared for clients with, inter alia, the following conditions:
Paralysis
Alzheimer’s
Blindness
Cancer/Palliative care
Dementia
Renal failure
Depression
Extreme old age
Stroke
Prolapsed disc
Incontinence
Asthma
Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Compulsive-Obsessive behaviour
Post Esophageal tear complications
Parkinsonism Syndrome
Mycobacterium avium complex (MAC) intracellulare infection
All the above clients required a range of different care and skills. I have also worked with catheters, conveen`s, Cpap machine`s, hoists (standing as well) and electronic beds , bath and chair lifts. I have dressed wounds, administered morphine and general medications and handled wheel chairs and Zimmer frames. I have also done bed baths and the usual care for those who are incontinent.
On a general level, I have cooked, cleaned, shopped, run errands, arranged various doctor and hospital appointments, and visits to the library. I also encouraged physical activity both within the home as well as walk`s outside and arranged recreational activities for my clients.
I have always found it easy to immerse myself in the role as caregiver and to give my clients the best possible care. To ensure their quality of life is the best it can be, be it with respect to their illness, disability, mental disorder, diets, recreational activities, their physical safety or their physical and emotional well-being. For me, every client is a unique human being with their own unique needs.
My clients and their families have always been happy with the level of care that I have provided and have acknowledged that I have impacted positively on their lives.
References are available on request.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Zia Teasdale

Live In Care Experience: 4-6 Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work, Nursing

Gender: Female

Looking for work in the following Locations:
London, South East, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cornwall, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Middlesex, Oxfordshire, Surrey, Wiltshire, South West, Bristol, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Isles of Scilly, Somerset, Swindon, Midlands, Derby, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland, West Midlands, Birmingham, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Wolverhampton, Worcestershire, North West, Cheshire, Cumberland, Isle of Man, Lancashire, Liverpool, Manchester, Merseyside, Warrington, North, County Durham, Cumbria, Leeds, Newcastle Upon Tyne, North Humberside, Northumberland, Sheffield, Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, York, Scotland, Aberdeenshire, Angus, Banffshire, Berwickshire, Caithness, Clackmannanshire, Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar, Cromartyshire, Dumfriesshire, East Lothian, Edinburgh, Fife, Flintshire, Highland, Inverness-shire, Isle Of Arran, Isle Of Benbecula, Isle of Bute, Isle of Colonsay, Isle of Cumbrae, Isle of Gigha, Isle Of Harris, Isle of Islay, Isle of Jura, Isle of Lewis, Isle Of Mull, Isle Of North Uist, Isle Of Scalpay, Isle of Skye, Isle Of South Uist, Isle Of Tiree, Kincardineshire, Kirkcudbrightshire, Midlothian, Moray, Morayshire, Orkney, Orkney Islands, Peeblesshire, Perth And Kinross, Perthshire, Renfrewshire, Roxburghshire, Scottish Borders, Selkirkshire, Shetland, Shetland Islands, Sutherland, West Lothian, Wigtownshire, Wales, Caernarfonshire, Cardiff, Cardiganshire, Carmarthenshire, Clwyd, Denbighshire, Dyfed, Glamorgan, Gwent, Gwynedd, Mid Glamorgan, Montgomeryshire, Neath Port Talbot, Pembrokeshire, Powys, Radnorshire, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Ross-shire, South Glamorgan, Swansea, West Glamorgan, East England, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Norfolk, Suffolk

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I don't have my own car

Care Qualifications: Nursing

Care Skills: Cancer, Catheter Care, Dementia, End of life / Palliative Care, Incontinence, Manual Handling, Medication Training, Parkinsons, Personal Care, Spinal Injury, Stoma, Stroke

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: