Profile - 16224

< Back to profiles

Hi everyone, my name is Charmaine Crawford. I am 42 years old, happily married for 14 years and was born in South Africa in Cape Town in a town called Robertson. My first language is Afrikaans however I am fluent in English. I come from a close knit family being my parents, two sisters and brother. We help and support each other all the time. I came to England in November 2013 and have been loving it here. I enjoy reading, fishing, hiking and sports. I also love travelling and have visited Mozambique, Spain, France, Greece and this year I would love to go to Turkey.

I have a strong desire for helping others and make a difference in their lives, seeing smiles on their faces and having fun in activities. I chose live-in-care to help promote independence and companionship, to help the clients maintain being in control in their environment, feel safer, more relaxed, more confident and generally happier. I will always be sensitive, listening and understanding every clients needs and choices.

I started working as a kitchen assistant at a nursing home and then I got approach by the manager to work as a carer. I worked there for six months and assist the clients with their personal hygiene, bathing, dressing, feeding and moving and handling. I took care of my granny for a few months in South Africa. I have looked after patients with dementia, strokes, muscular spinal atrophy, end of life and disabilities.

I have completed my induction training and received my Care Certificate in February 2016. My future goals is to study further in the care sector.

In closing I am a caring, patient, friendly person and love a good laugh.

Live In Care Experience: 1-3 Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: No Experience I would like help with training

Gender: Female

Looking for work in the following Locations:
Lancashire, Leeds

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I don't have my own car

Care Qualifications:

Care Skills: Catheter Care, Complex Care, COSHH Training, Dementia, End of life / Palliative Care, Manual Handling, Medication Training, Personal Care, Spinal Injury, Stroke

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: