Profile - 12073

< Back to profiles

Secretarial Lecturer for 26 years
Office work DSS, Social Services, Staffordshire Police
Foster Carer to 3 teenage siblings for 15 months
Live-in Carer for 9 months. 5 placements, mainly covering for other carers.
I also worked in an admin capacity in an elderly persons' residential home for four and a half years, during which time I got to know all the residents, some of whom had dementia and some a learning disability. I used to enjoy accompanying the residents and their care assistants on day trips, helping out by pushing one of the residents in a wheelchair, in addition to which I took part in a show to entertain the residents, myself and one of the care assistants doing a song and dance routine. I would have preferred to have been a care assistant in the home, rather than doing admin work, but I only had teaching and admin qualifications, and no experience in care. However, in June 2014 I did a 1-week live-in care course and an 18 module online course in Care.

Live In Care Experience: 1-3 Yrs. Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work, Care for close relative or loved one

Gender: Female

Looking for work in the following Locations:
Midlands, Derby, Derbyshire, West Midlands, Birmingham, Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, Wolverhampton, Worcestershire

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License

Care Qualifications:

Care Skills: Catheter Care, Dementia, End of life / Palliative Care, Incontinence, Manual Handling, Medication Training, Personal Care, Stroke, Brain Injury

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: