This job has expired

Live in PA/Carer - London

Private Employer

7 days ago

£1050/per week

WAIT! This job has expired

Job Description

I’m a 26-year-old male based in London and I have SMA, which means I use an electric wheelchair. I'm looking for a capable, caring and motivated PA to provide daily support and personal care, so I can live and work independently.

The candidate will usually work in "1 week on, 1 week off" or "2 weeks on, 2 weeks off" shifts. This is flexible and there will also be opportunities to work longer shifts.

During the day there will be 2-4 hours' downtime (depending on my plans) allowing time to study, work on projects, read, exercise, etc. However, you must be on call at all times during shifts in case of emergency.

Benefits include accommodation with a private bathroom, one main meal provided per day and 5.6 weeks of paid holiday pro rata.

The combination of flexible working arrangements, the knowledge that you are having a positive, daily impact on someone’s life, and the relaxed, inclusive working environment makes this a unique and exciting opportunity.

I believe in fostering an environment where work and leisure coexist harmoniously, creating a balance that enhances our overall well-being. So, beyond the responsibilities, I want you to cherish moments of discovery and relaxation – whether it’s exploring the culture and bustle of London, or adjusting to a slower pace of life when visiting my family in the countryside – making your time here not just fulfilling professionally but personally enriching as well.

 

About me

I have a condition called Spinal Muscular Atrophy (type 2) which means I use an electric wheelchair full-time.

SMA affects all the muscles in my body, causing weakness and atrophy over time. I fatigue easily, I take longer to eat meals (I have some problems swallowing) and I have respiratory difficulties, which can cause chest infections.

I am currently working in advertising. I'm interested in current affairs, culture, sports, travel and learning new things. In my spare time, I go to museums, theatre, events around London, watch movies and meet up with friends/family. I studied Classics at university and graduated in 2019. After graduating I travelled to 14 countries with my PA, and I'm a keen explorer of new places.

Having grown up in Buckinghamshire, I enjoy visiting home when I get the chance. During these visits, your free time won't just be downtime; it will be an opportunity to explore the picturesque countryside and charming surrounding villages.

 

Responsibilities 

You will support me with a variety of daily activities, including personal care (washing and dressing), accompanying me to concerts, the theatre, comedy shows, travelling abroad, driving, cooking, shopping, domestic tasks and admin tasks.

You are unlikely to have experience in every aspect of my personal care, therefore full training will be provided. You will need to learn routines and skills quickly, and follow instructions carefully.

You will assist me using medical equipment including a hoist and a non-invasive ventilator (BiPAP).

I like to be independent where I can, socialise and get around like anyone else. You will need to occupy yourself when I do not need my PA around, but you must be alert and on call at all times.

We will develop a good relationship - you’ll use your initiative to understand when I need support or when to step back and let me get on with whatever I’m doing.

 

Attitude

  • Responsible, capable and caring.
  • Energetic, motivated, proactive and work well in a team.
  • Calm under pressure and able to adapt quickly to new situations.
  • Able to communicate clearly and enjoy discussing a variety of topics.
  • Understand how to be discreet, tactful and treat information confidentially.
  • Excellent attention to detail.

 

Skills & Experience

  • Great communication skills.
  • Excellent organisational skills.
  • Naturally tidy with excellent cleanliness and domestic skills.
  • Good knowledge of cooking and food hygiene.
  • Good level of physical fitness/active lifestyle.
  • Good administration/computer skills.
  • Preferred: hold a valid driving license.
  • Experience working in a team.
  • Experience working in a support role/customer service.
  • Experience of travel abroad.

 

Most important of all is your attitude and willingness to learn. Many of my PAs have become good friends along the way, showing the importance of blending professional responsibility with the joy of life. Positive energy isn't just a preference; it's something I hold deeply important. Beyond professional competence, I'm seeking someone who is adaptable, brings a zest for enjoyment and a commitment to doing good.

Together, I believe we can cultivate a happy and thriving environment, sharing fun new experiences and a supportive space for personal and professional growth. If this sounds like something you are keen to try I would love to hear from you.

All applicants must be willing to undergo appropriate screening, including checks with past employers and an Enhanced Disclosure via the Disclosure and Barring Service.

If you are interested in this job but the timing does not suit, please include this in your application to be considered for the role in the future.

To apply for this position, please click the Apply Now button and submit a full application, including a CV.

Please only apply if you are a UK resident / have a valid UK work visa.

Job Details

Job Ref:

202203

Start Date:

June 2024 onwards

Location:

UK

Salary:

£1050/per week

Employment type:

Full Time

Working Term:

Self employed or Employed (PAYE)

This job has expired