Job Details

Live-in carers needed in Brighton - £140 per day

Brighton, Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom, GBP 140 per day, Self Employed

Posted: 2 days ago

Description

 

I'm a disabled person looking to hire facilitators (care workers)

Hello, my name is Lorna. I have been living in Hove near Brighton for the past 3 years, it was a 10 year long wish to be living by the sea. I’m still in the process of trying to set up life here and COVID-19 interrupted rather rudely! Since I moved to Brighton I have written a book called Seven Questions - available on Amazon. It’s about my personal life, career and the language around disability.

Before moving to Brighton I worked in the care industry setting up care packages for people of all ages. Before that I was a teacher for young children and adults with autism and other disabilities. I enjoy working a lot, I can’t wait for the opportunity to start a new job!

I also enjoy spending time with family and friends. I am missing everyone so much as I have been shielding since March! When COVID-19 decides to disappear I am so looking forward to spending time with them.

Since moving here I have realised how different the culture is and I am really missing Hertfordshire, London and the surrounding areas.

I am hoping to find 4 Facilitators (carers) to do between 5 - 7 days a week (one week a month each). As I am looking for a total of 4 facilitators, I would like people to facilitate me Monday to Friday or Friday to Sunday. In total, people will be working with me for about 49 weeks a year, for a minimum of one year. This helps us to build a proper relationship.

You will be self-employed so if not already, you will need to register with the Inland Revenue and have your own liability insurance.  Please note, even if you are already self-employed, each care working role will need its own Inland Revenue number.  Plus you will need to send in invoices when you have worked. Also you need to have another job as well as working for me.

If you come from London then I could have a bit of London in my home again which would be great. I don’t mind if you don’t have any experience as I can show you everything. I have Cerebral Palsy Quadriplegia, I am a powered wheelchair user. I have an Ileostomy Stoma which if you’ve never heard of we can talk about it in the interview if you get to that stage.

It’s really important to me that we work together as a team. Most of the help I need is physical but I am also severely dyslexic. Therefore, a good command of the English language in both written and speaking form is essential. I need help to look after my home, cooking, cleaning, getting up in the morning, getting into bed at night, having a bath, etc. Just generally getting on with life.

I am in my 40s but I don’t mind the age of the person. What is important is reliability, flexibility, good outlook on life, easy-going personality, organised and someone who likes their job.

The rate is £140 per 24 hours.

Most of the people who have worked with me in the past have done so for at least 4 years. So I’m obviously not that bad to work for!

I’m looking to do the interviews in the end of May after I have had my second Covid vaccination. I’m then looking to start trial periods  in June. The trial period will be 3 shifts. However I feel I need to state that this could all change due to Covid restrictions!

If you are interested in working with me please send me a chatty email telling me all about yourself and why you would like this job.

I will do my best to reply to as many people as I can.

I look forward to hearing from you.

 

Job Details

ABC
Part Time
Brighton, Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Self Employed
GBP 140 per day