Job Details

Click here to become a registered jobseeker.

Live-in carer part-time : £350 per week

South West, United Kingdom, GBP 350 per week, Self employed or Employed (PAYE)

Description

  1. Hi, I am a 70yr. old university educated Male who suffers from COPD & CCF (on home oxygen) and have just left residential care to live in my nearly new Park Home on the outskirts of Truro, Cornwall. At present I have an agency live-in carer to help me with the transition from residential care to living back in the wide world - this care ends on 30/01/2020 and as I do not need 24yr. care I have advertised this job as part time.
  2. I mainly need help in the mornings and evening which would leave the carer most afternoons to undertake a second part-time job (I live next to a large nursing home who are always advertising for staff), an educational qualification or just enjoy the benefits of Cornwall such as good surfing. I am being assessed by Cornwall Council to see how much they will pay me for my care - they have given a rough estimate of 2 1/2 hours, 7 days a week which means they will pay around £300 to which I could add about £50 from the government Attendance Allowance that I have applied for. Should any applicant take a part-time job as well which paid £200 approx. it would give them the £550 per week I often see advertised. The position would probably be a self-employed one but this is negotiable.
  3. My main needs are of a domestic nature such as shopping (most of my food is delivered and I get a lot of items online), cleaning, laundry, cooking, companionship, and accompanying on trips outside the home though I do need some personal care such as bathing. I do go out to the local town, Truro, by taxi and have an electrically assisted wheelchair for the carer to push me around. I also have an electric tricycle (and an electric bicycle for the carer) for short trips around about my home which is on a Truro - Newquay bus route. I also have a nearly new 50cc moped that the carer could use for running errands.
  4. I spend my days making model boats and small railway trains that are powered by real steam engines and my evenings watching foreign detective series or films on television (Amazon Prime account). I can only offer a small bedroom but all heating, internet and other services are included as is most food (if you have exotic and expensive tastes you will need to pay for these yourself).
  5. I am open to applications from all ethnic backgrounds and do not require you to speak perfect English. Ideally I would like to find a long term carer but I can accept carers who only wish to work 3 months or more. I'm sorry that I cannot match the basic salary offered by many others but this position does give the carer the opportunity to earn extra elsewhere which would also give them a more rounded work/social life. All aspects of this position are negotiable. Previous experience of such work is preferred but not essential.

Graham Alden

Job Details

Alden/live-in
After 01/02/2020
Part Time
South West, United Kingdom
Self employed or Employed (PAYE)
GBP 350 per week