Full-time Live In PA/Buddy for B14 Cerebral Palsy

SENNIES Ltd

5 days ago

£30000 - 40000/per year

Job Description

Location: Putney, SW15

Wage / Salary: £14 - £17ph gross /  £33,670 - £40,885 per annum (please note this salary breakdown is provided as a rough/approximate guide) 

 Accommodation: Lovely separate suite within the house. Double bedroom, kitchenette and own en-suite. Off street parking is also available.

Driving Status: Yes - Manual car to use on duty

Essential Traits/Skills:

  • Previous childcare experience

  • Cheerful with a  can-do attitude

  • Patient and Kind approach

  • Great organisational skills

  • Fluent English speaker

  • Comfortable working as part of a team of staff whilst being able to successfully work on their own initiative

  • Comfortable working in a household with pets

 

DesirableTraits/Skills:

  • Special Educational Needs experience (The family are open to viewing other suitable candidates with the right temperament/personality fit for their son as training is provided)

  • Open to traveling on occasion with the family for holidays (UK or abroad)

 

Pets: 3 dogs, 2 cats 

Start Date: Mid to late August for handover before school resumes in September

 Days & Hours:  40 hours per week across 4.5 days

             Term time: Monday-Friday (approx 39 weeks per school year)

             - 6:45am-9am and  3pm-8:30pm + 1 night babysitting per week

 

School Holidays: Monday-Friday  6.45 am-8.30pm - (approx 13 weeks per school year)

     

 

About the Family:

SENNIES are looking forward to finding a fantastic new Sennie for a busy but loving family in Putney. The focus for this family is on securing someone with the right attitude and personality fit over hands-on experience as they will provide full training, making this an exciting opportunity for a Sennie to gain new skills as well as undertake a rewarding and dynamic position.

 

About B14:

B14 is a bright young man with a great sense of humour. He has quad athetoid Cerebral Palsy, with little functional control over his body meaning he is a full time wheelchair user. His greatest passion is music, he enjoys watching music videos or compiling Spotify playlists.  He’s also a big movie buff and regularly uses Instagram and TikTok, so someone who is clued-up on technology and social media to ensure he is enjoying the internet safely would be ideal.

 

The family would like to find someone who is also able to support B14 with his personal needs, school work and who can help him to explore and engage with the things he enjoys. The work will largely take place at B14’s home. 

 

Although B14 is non verbal, he communicates well using an eye gaze device and/or a low-tech communication system and currently attends mainstream school. IT competence would be an advantage to best support him.

 

His key areas for development and support are:

  • Communication (using his eye gaze and learning his other methods of communication)

  • Eating / Feeding 

  • Personal care including toileting and sensitive handling

  • Mobility and getting around (using his wheelchair and hoists)

 

 

About the role:

The family is looking for someone with a can-do, positive attitude. Someone who is energetic and will help encourage B14 to spend more time outside and engage with external activities where possible.

 

Main duties include:

● School morning routine: lunch & snack prep, personal care, getting dressed, transfer to chair, breakfast and driving to school

● After school routine: collection from school, liaison with school staff

● Afternoon snack and personal care

● Supporting homework, including finding fun ways to motivate

● Assisting physiotherapist/carrying out therapy programme with visual support from physiotherapist

● Supporting in developing personal interests/independent passions such as music playlist, planning outings, keeping in touch with friends

● All transfers between equipment

● Administration of medication with meals

● Evening routine - dinner, personal care and shower

● Supporting Mum in planning healthy balanced meals and meal preparation 

● Light domestic tasks such as loading/emptying dishwasher, putting away G’s clean clothes, keeping G’s room tidy

● Communicating with Mum regarding supplies (repeat prescriptions, personal care products), equipment maintenance and health concerns (blisters, sleep, general wellbeing)

 

Personality fit is more important to the family than experience as relevant training will be provided. They are looking for a strong role model who has a flexible approach, with the ability to guide their child towards age appropriate content in his areas of interest eg. tv, films and music. Someone who can help build upon B14’s independence and encourage independent learning, using every experience as an opportunity to learn and explore.

 

Candidates must be reliable, responsible, intelligent, engaging and kind.

 

The Sennie selected will be able to follow and support therapies and interventions determined by the family and professionals. A genuine interest in working with children with special educational needs is a must.

Job Details

Job Ref:

0033

Start Date:

Mid August

Location:

Putney, London, UK

Salary:

£30000 - 40000/per year Competitive salary for a great role in a gorgeous house/location

Employment type:

Full Time

Working Term:

Employed (PAYE)