Profile - 29772

< Back to profiles

Currently working with an agency as a live-in carer. Living with an elderly couple, one of whom has Parkinson's Disease.

Experience in domiciliary care (2012), before changing to office based work. Recently decided my values and personality are better suited to being a carer. I love knowing I have made a positive difference to customers.

I started working as a live-in carer at the end of March 2018 and am looking to work in Birmingham, / West Midlands area. Will also consider North/North West London and Luton, as I have family in these areas.

I have completed care training including GDPR training. I prefer to work with elderly customers and am interested in palliative care work although I have no experience in this area.

I do have experience in administering and overseeing medication
Personal care (of men and women)
Companionship and respite care (including overnight)
Preparing and cooking healthy meals
Supporting mobility, moving and handling.
Continence management
Taking customers out (e.g. a drink to their local pub or a trip to the park)
Driving customers car (I can drive both automatic and manual cars)
Housework and cleaning chores, shopping and administrative tasks

I have experience and understanding of working with customers with Parkinson's Disease, arthritis, type-2 diabetes, Dementia and Alzheimer along with back and hip injuries which have caused limited mobility.

I am an introvert who is often called patient, calm, loyal, funny, trustworthy and sensitive by customers, friends and family. I believe in the personal centered care approach of valuing others, dignity and respect in care as well as supporting people so they enjoy independent living.

I have recently studied health & nutrition for myself and believe in promoting eating the best foods possible for my customers, while also believing a little bit of what we fancy never hurts.

I am looking to travel and prefer cycles of two months on and two weeks off.

Own a full clean driving licence but I do not own a car. Happy to work as self-employed or be employed by a family who need a carer for their loved one as well as agencies.

Live In Care Experience: Yrs

General Care Experience: Live in care work, Home Care, Other Care Work

Gender: Female

Looking for work in the following Locations:
London, West Midlands, Birmingham, Staffordshire, Wolverhampton, East England, Luton

Other Information

English Language Level: Advanced

Driving Licence: Full License - I don't have my own car

Care Qualifications:

Care Skills: Dementia, Incontinence, Manual Handling, Medication Training, Parkinsons

Current DBS: Yes

Leave Comment: